vagrant setup

I may be an idiot, but I’ve simply never used vagrant successfully before.

“Just vagrant up and you’re ready to go!” say all the instructions. Yeah, that probably works fine with the default VirtualBox, which is available for all major desktop platforms. But I don’t want to use any more proprietary Oracle crap than I absolutely have to. I don’t even want to run VMs on my local host (all my RAM is already taken up by my browser tab habit), but if I did it would be on KVM/QEMU that’s native to Fedora. But I have access to AWS and OpenStack, so why would I even do that?

Well, if you want to use something other than the default, you have to add provider plugins. Alright, sounds easy enough.

$  vagrant plugin install vagrant-openstack-provider
Installing the 'vagrant-openstack-provider' plugin. This can take a few minutes...
Installed the plugin 'vagrant-openstack-provider (0.6.0)'!
$ vagrant plugin install vagrant-aws
Installing the 'vagrant-aws' plugin. This can take a few minutes...
Installed the plugin 'vagrant-aws (0.6.0)'!

Oh yeah, easy-peasy man! OK, let’s fire up OpenShift v3:

$ git clone https://github.com/openshift/origin
$ cd origin
$ vagrant up --provider=aws
There are errors in the configuration of this machine. Please fix
the following errors and try again:
SSH:
* `private_key_path` file must exist: PATH TO AWS KEYPAIR PRIVATE KEY

Hm, OK, must be something I need to provide. Look through the Vagrantfile, looks like it’s expecting an entry for AWSPrivateKeyPath in my .awscreds file. I have a private key file, I can do that. Try again…

$ vagrant up --provider=aws
Bringing machine 'openshiftdev' up with 'aws' provider...
/home/luke/.vagrant.d/gems/gems/fog-aws-0.0.6/lib/fog/aws/region_methods.rb:6:in `validate_aws_region': Unknown region: "<AMI_REGION>" (ArgumentError)

Erm… right, more stuff to fill in. I don’t particularly want to edit the Vagrantfile, and not sure which AMI_REGION I should use. Surely someone on my team has specified all this somewhere? A search brings me to https://github.com/openshift/vagrant-openshift which looks like it ought to at least create me a config file that Vagrant will read. Sounds good, let’s go:

$ cd vagrant-openshift
$ bundle
Fetching git://github.com/mitchellh/vagrant.git
Fetching gem metadata from https://rubygems.org/.........
Resolving dependencies...
[.......]
Using vagrant-openshift 1.0.12 from source at .
Your bundle is complete!
Use `bundle show [gemname]` to see where a bundled gem is installed.

$ rake vagrant:install
vagrant-openshift 1.0.12 built to pkg/vagrant-openshift-1.0.12.gem.
The plugin 'vagrant-openshift' is not installed. Please install it first.
Installing the 'pkg/vagrant-openshift-1.0.12.gem' plugin. This can take a few minutes...
Installed the plugin 'vagrant-openshift (1.0.12)'!

$ cd ~/go/
[luke:/home/luke/go] $ vagrant openshift3-local-checkout -u sosiouxme
/home/luke/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.3-p545/lib/ruby/site_ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/dependency.rb:298:in `to_specs': Could not find 'vagrant' (>= 0) among 218 total gem(s) (Gem::LoadError)
[...stack trace]

Whaaaaat? I’ve entirely broken vagrant now, and I have no idea how. Vagrant seems just a little more… fragile?… than I was expecting. Fine, let’s move to ruby 2.0 and define a gemset just for vagrant, such that if I hose things up again, it’s contained. (I tried ruby 2.1 first but had an error getting rubygems from rubygems.org… well, that’s not vagrant’s fault.) Wait, I can’t do that, recent vagrant versions are no longer published as a rubygem; I’m supposed to get it from my OS. I have it installed as the vagrant-0.6.5 RPM. If I try to add plugins under rvm, it complains that the vagrant *gem* isn’t installed. Which of course it isn’t… if you do install it, it just tells you not to do that.

OK, so let’s just go with the system ruby that apparently the RPM is expecting.

$ rvm use system
Now using system ruby.
$ vagrant plugin install vagrant-aws
Installing the 'vagrant-aws' plugin. This can take a few minutes...
Installed the plugin 'vagrant-aws (0.6.0)'!
$ bundle
[...]
Using vagrant 1.7.2 from git://github.com/mitchellh/vagrant.git (at master)
 [ should I be worried the version doesn't match?]
Installing vagrant-aws 0.6.0
[...]
$ vagrant openshift3-local-checkout -u sosiouxme
Waiting for the cloning process to finish
Cloning origin ...
Cloning git@github.com:sosiouxme/origin
Cloning source-to-image ...
Cloning git@github.com:sosiouxme/source-to-image
Cloning wildfly-8-centos ...
Cloning git@github.com:sosiouxme/wildfly-8-centos
Cloning ruby-20-centos ...
Cloning git@github.com:sosiouxme/ruby-20-centos
ERROR: Repository not found.
 [yeah, I haven't cloned all the repos... do I need to???]
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.
Fork of repo wildfly-8-centos not found. Cloning read-only copy from upstream
ERROR: Repository not found.
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.
Fork of repo source-to-image not found. Cloning read-only copy from upstream
ERROR: Repository not found.
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.
Fork of repo ruby-20-centos not found. Cloning read-only copy from upstream
remote: Counting objects: 1, done.
remote: Total 1 (delta 0), reused 1 (delta 0)
Unpacking objects: 100% (1/1), done.
From https://github.com/openshift/origin
 * [new branch] master -> upstream/master
 * [new tag] v0.2 -> v0.2
OpenShift repositories cloned into /home/luke/go/src/github.com/openshift

$ cd src/github.com/openshift/origin/
$ vagrant origin-init --stage inst --os fedora lmeyer-osv3dev
Reading AWS credentials from /home/luke/.awscred
Searching for latest base AMI
Found: ami-0221586a (devenv-fedora_559)
$ vagrant up --provider=aws
Bringing machine 'openshiftdev' up with 'aws' provider...
[...]
/home/luke/.vagrant.d/gems/gems/excon-0.43.0/lib/excon/middlewares/expects.rb:6:in `response_call': The key pair 'AWS KEYPAIR NAME' does not exist (Fog::Compute::AWS::NotFound)

OK now what? I really don’t want to have to edit Vagrantfile and deal with keeping that out of git. I haven’t quite torn my hair out before a coworker points out https://github.com/openshift/vagrant-openshift#aws-credentials which was considerably further down than I was looking. OK, so I just needed to add  AWSKeyPairName to my .awscreds, and…

$ vagrant up --provider=aws
Bringing machine 'openshiftdev' up with 'aws' provider...
[...]
==> openshiftdev: Machine is booted and ready for use!

Finally! And “vagrant ssh” works too! There’s not really much running yet, but I’ll figure that out later. Now what if I want to tear down that box and do something different? Let’s see…

$ vagrant -h
/home/luke/.vagrant.d/gems/gems/vagrant-share-1.1.3/lib/vagrant-share/activate.rb:8:in `rescue in <encoded>': vagrant-share can't be installed without vagrant login (RuntimeError)

Really? Ah, seems I ran into a bug and just need to upgrade vagrant by downloading it from vagrantup.com rather than Fedora. Just like I apparently did long ago and forgot about. Fun.

What would probably have been obvious to anyone who knew vagrant is that adding vagrant-openshift actually adds commands to what vagrant can handle, such as “vagrant openshift3-local-checkout” above. There are a bunch more on the help menu.

So, back to running stuff. This looks promising:

$ vagrant install-openshift3
Running ssh/sudo command 'yum install -y augeas' with timeout 600. Attempt #0
Package augeas-1.2.0-2.fc20.x86_64 already installed and latest version
[...]
$ vagrant test-openshift3
***************************************************
Running hack/test-go.sh...
[...]

It’s not obvious (to me) how to actually run openshift via vagrant. I’m guessing you just vagrant ssh in and run it from /data where everything is compiled. I was kind of hoping for more magic (like, here’s a vagrant command that sets up three clustered etcd servers and five nodes, and you just ssh in and “osc get foo” works). Also I need to try out the libvirt and openstack providers. But that’s all I have time for today…

Yep, easy-peasy!

Leave a Reply

