It’s not the errors that make me scream about Java/Maven/Spring/Eclipse

What really gets me is that I always seem to come up against ones that are not only inscrutable, but seem to be unique to me. Google brings up nothing, or brings up only irrelevant results from five years ago and a different context. Here’s my latest. In a Spring configuration file, I have:

<jdbc:embedded-database id="dataSource">
    <jdbc:script location="classpath:rewards/testdb/schema.sql"/>
    <jdbc:script location="classpath:rewards/testdb/test-data.sql"/>
 </jdbc:embedded-database>

This gets me an error in Eclipse (STS actually): “No constructor with 1 argument defined in class ‘org.springframework.jdbc.config.SortedResourcesFactoryBean'”

Huh?

Google’s not helpful. Looking at the source of SortedResourcesFactoryBean doesn’t display any evident source for the problem. Guess I’ll ask on the Spring forum and see if I can find out anything. For all I know it’s an STS bug with 2.5.1; this exact same code and setup worked before, in an earlier version of STS. But it’s probably something related to the environment, perhaps the JARs I happen to have available via Maven.

Leave a Reply

