Exploring ApiDemos; misc Android

Android 1.5 is down below 8% market share. If my wife’s Cliq ever gets an upgrade I’m dropping that platform like a hot potato. What’s interesting is that Eclair is actually still more common than Froyo (40%) – you’d think if they’ve done the work to get the device to 2.1, and seen how quickly versions change, it shouldn’t be too big a step to 2.2. Oh well.

I’ve been looking through ApiDemos to learn. While most of the demo classes seem well-commented, amusingly the ApiDemos.java file itself is not, and it does some non-obvious things involving searching the package manager for intents to dynamically create the lists being browsed. The upshot is it’s less than obvious how to find the sample code that matches the sample functionality you browse to – nothing tells you how to make the mapping, and it’s not always obvious. The actual mapping is between the label listed in the AndroidManifest.xml file for the activity (which is what you see in the app’s list browser, except that in many cases the actual text is in the strings.xml file) and the class name listed with it, e.g.:

<activity android:name=".view.Tabs1" android:label="Views/Tabs/Content By Id">

I would argue that the mapping between what you see (Views/Tabs/Content By Id – which again is often in strings.xml for no good reason I can see) and the class (com.example.android.apis.view.Tabs1) is far from obvious. Call me crazy, I think a README or at least a couple lines of comments in the main class would be in order. I should submit a patch.

Found a little nugget in ApiDemosApplication.java (which is otherwise empty):

PreferenceManager.setDefaultValues(this, R.xml.default_values, false);

This is a one-time setting of default prefs. Now of course, default_values.xml couldn’t be something simple like key-value pairs. It’s a PreferenceScreen like you would use for defining a PreferenceActivity. You wouldn’t know about those from the dev guide, unless you like decyphering reference docs. But as it happens I learned about these at some point and created a prefs screen with them in LogMyLife… which currently has no effect, so I need to do something about that.

I finally got around to gathering sources for the 2.2 platform to attach in Eclipse. I’ll have to update my article one of these days. Aside from the new sources, I should include the Apache license files in order to be proper.

I’m looking at migrating this blog to Blogspot. WordPress has neat themes but it deliberately blocks integration with tools like Adsense and Google Analytics. Also this editor drives me nuts. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

