Im-a build me some Spring samples (Part 1: petcare) #fail

Just more examples of commonplace Eclipse/Java things that drive me nuts. I should say up front that the version of Eclipse I’m using is actually SpringSource Tool Suite (STS) version 2.3.2.RELEASE, running on the 1.6.0_20 64-bit Sun HotSpot JVM on Fedora 13.

There’s a trove of Spring sample projects over at https://src.springframework.org/svn/spring-samples/ – very helpful. So I had Eclipse check some out and import them as projects. Funny thing, there seem to be a lot of complaints about XML. I’m getting a little more savvy, let’s see if I can resolve these.

Pet Care

spring-petcare-3.0.xsd

From petcare’s servlet-context.xml, we get the good old “Referenced file contains errors (http://www.springframework.org/schema/petcare/spring-petcare-3.0.xsd).” OK – I’m pretty familiar with that. If you try to go to the URL given, SpringSource’s server redirects you to the home page. Seems the “petcare” schema just didn’t quite make the list with the rest of the framework – I can understand that. But what URL should we use instead?

Well, not surprisingly, the petcare projects contains its own XSD; it’s in /src/main/resources/org/springframework/samples/petcare/util/config/ – so how do I use that as the URL? Well, one way is to use the svn tree from the website; then the schemaLocation is https://src.springframework.org/svn/spring-samples/petcare/trunk/src/main/resources/org/springframework/samples/petcare/util/config/spring-petcare-3.0.xsd. Would have been nice if the project just did that, wouldn’t it? I would think that, distrusting SpringSource not to move/change it again, you could refer to it relative to src/main/resources/META-INF/spring/appServlet/servlet-context.xml as ../../../org/springframework/samples/petcare/util/config/spring-petcare-3.0.xsd (feeling the pain yet?) or copy it to the same directory and just refer to it as spring-petcare-3.0.xsd – but neither of these seems to work on deploy, while the web URL does. There’s a file META-INF/spring/spring.schemas that appears to be intended to specify where to look in the project for the schema, but I’m not sure how it’s supposed to be referred to in Eclipse to make this work.

Here’s a really great error Eclipse has on one of the XML elements that refers to the schema: “- schema_reference.4: Failed to read schema document ‘spring-petcare-3.0.xsd’, because 1) could not find the document; 2) the document could not be read; 3) the root element of the document is not <xsd:schema>.” So which is it? Good grief. Would it really be hard to make messages like this actually useful? This is so frustrating.

Amazingly enough, if you try to deploy and you haven’t cleaned this up, Tomcat goes and tries to download the XSD as well and fails if it comes out wrong. So there you have it: your ability to deploy seems to depend on whether the right web sites are up at the right time. I imagine there’s a Tomcat or context.xml setting to disable this behavior.

Spring NamespaceHandler for petcare:resources

OK. So now I’m pointing at the right XSD, but I still have problems with servlet-context.xml. Actually it’s only a warning, but: “Unable to locate Spring NamespaceHandler for element ‘petcare:resources’ of schema namespace ‘http://www.springframework.org/schema/petcare'&#8221; – again with the “Unable to locate” business. That crap sure gets old. Why don’t you give me some kind of clue? Where did you look, where should I look? Actually I think I understand this and it’s trying to say there’s no “resources” element defined in the XSD. But there certainly is, so I don’t really know what this is on about. It seems to work anyway on deploy so I’ll ignore for now.

root-context.xml: Build path is incomplete

On to root-context.xml, another Spring bean file. This has three errors listed. The first two are really confusing: Next to line 22 which looks like this:

<!-- Embedded H2 Database -->

I have the error “Build path is incomplete. Cannot find class file for org.springframework.samples.petcare.users.PetcareAuthenticationFailureHandler”. Next to line 24 which looks like this:

<jdbc:script location="classpath:schema.sql" />

I have the error “Build path is incomplete. Cannot find class file for org.springframework.samples.petcare.users.PetcareUserService”. WTF? Actually Eclipse helpfully gave me a clue below on line 56, which looks like this:

<import resource="security.xml" />

This has the warning “Validation warning occured in imported configuration file ‘src/main/resources/META-INF/spring/security.xml'”. Yes, as it turns out that file has errors on lines 22 and 24, where  they make a lot more sense. But they’re not reported in security.xml; they’re reported against irrelevant lines in root-context.xml, which just includes it. Truly mind-boggling.

Now from this, plus the “Build path is incomplete. Cannot find class file for org.springframework.samples.petcare.util.templating.DefaultStringTemplateFactory” on line 29, I gather the build path is incomplete. But all those files look to be provided by this project and the build paths seem to be set up fine. So what the heck is going on?

At this point I checked my system and noticed that after installing some unrelated things, Fedora has chosen java-1.5.0-gcj as my compiler. I don’t think Eclipse is using this, and theoretically it shouldn’t matter anyway, but I shut down Eclipse, reconfigure alternatives so the Sun JDK is again providing the default javac, restart Eclipse, and clean the project. Somewhere in there, the complaints went away.

page.jsp Type mismatch

Now I’m left with just one actual error in src/main/webapp/WEB-INF/layouts/page.jsp. Only, when I open that file, Eclipse doesn’t list any errors. I have to go down to the “Markers” tab to find it:

page.jsp line 62 Type mismatch: cannot convert from boolean to String

Line 62 is a completely innocuous HTML div. Eclipse is just bonkers. I delete the marker and now my petcare project is free of red Xes. I deploy and it works. That might be enough for some people… but now, what about all those warnings?

Unresolvable warnings

Our old friend servlet-context.xml still has a warning next to <petcare:resources> that says “Unable to locate Spring NamespaceHandler for element ‘petcare:resources’ of schema namespace ‘http://www.springframework.org/schema/petcare'&#8221;. I feel I’ve been as clear as possible about the petcare schema so I really don’t know what more there is to say. So let’s leave that (or delete it).

Under src/main/resources, log4j.xml complains “The file cannot be validated as the XML Schema “/home/luke/Documents/workspace-sts-2.3.2.RELEASE/petcare/src/main/java/log4j.dtd (No such file or directory)” that is specified as describing the syntax of the file cannot be located.” This seems to be universally ignored – as I recall, I saw some bogus explanation as to why it was bad to specify a URL for this DTD. You would think Eclipse could just supply the DTD itself, or find it somewhere in the log4j JAR in my Maven dependencies. I don’t have a clue what to do about this so I leave it.

The final warnings are in src/main/webapp/WEB-INF/views/appointments/calendar.jsp, where Eclipse is complaining about data-* attributes on some HTML tags. As I recall these attribute “extensions” are part of the HTML standard so I don’t know why Eclipse is complaining. No way to shut it up without disabling validation entirely, so again let’s leave it. And that’s it for petcare.

Memory (classloader) leak

BTW, petcare has a big fat memory leak in it somewhere, because after you’ve re-deployed a few times, you get a PermGen error. Nice going. I can use this to hone my memory-leak-debugging skills soon.

One Response

  1. Thought I’d comment on same issues…
    re page.jsp
    Deleting the marker lasts until the next build. no fun.
    The actual error is at line 34.
    it’s an eclipse bug from what I can google.
    Should be able to change it to
    test=${ !empty pageContext.request.userPrincipal}
    the one about not finding the beans (three of them) was fixed with the help of this post http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2868412/spring-eclipse-referenced-bean-not-found-warning-when-using-import checking the OTHER box!
    So far, I’m ignoring warnings now that I can actually do stuff.
    Hope it helps

Leave a Reply

