back in the saddle… (?)

Hoo boy have I been busy, mostly too busy to track it here. Found some actual contract work – well, if I could just get a signed contract. And also have been exploring Spring for a potential job offer. But my tech-fu has been failing left and right, don’t know what happened!

My trouble started a week ago when I went to my Android hack night and Eclipse on my laptop wouldn’t even bring up any editors. At the time I thought it was somehow related to the STS (SpringSource Tool Suite) I had installed (it’s another eclipse distro) but now I doubt it was related; there had been a number of other system updates and I think some of them caused problems, though I’m still at this date unclear what happened. I installed an entire parallel Fedora 12 system reusing my home directory but not introducing all the rpmfusion/jpackage stuff and it seemed to do better with Android but I ended up monkeying around with .eclipse and eclipse-workspace/.metadata until I’m not sure what I did anymore. All the while switching back and forth between the two OS installs did wonders for my firefox config. I *think* it’ll play Flash again now.

In the midst of all that I was trying to get work done and try out Spring. STS gave me fits, and I’m really not sure how much of it is STS/Java and how much was related to other issues was having. I stopped trying to figure things out on the notebook after a while, but I tried STS on Ubuntu and on WinXP and the best I could get it to was that it would build the examples and deploy them to tomcat, but this might not work after the first time, and half of my projects were riddled with all kinds of dependency problems. Dependencies in Java are a nightmare. I’m sure if I sat in a cube next to some gurus for a few days, they’d get my system in shape. But having to figure it out alone is infuriating.

But the fun did not end there. My laptop started acting really odd yesterday; stopped being able to open applications and such. I rebooted and the shutdown had lots of complaints about stuff that was refusing to unmount and such. After reboot I couldn’t log in graphically. I got to a place where it was trying to login and stuck, and I couldn’t switch to any consoles so had to do a hard stop, and of course when it rebooted I was nailed with fsck (for BOTH installs of Fedora now). Then I was fiddling with it and started getting messages about “can’t modify (foo) – read-only filesystem” – this was for BOTH the OS and home partitions. From what I could gather in /var/log/messages, the OS started having problems with the filesystems and just remounted everything to read-only – have never seen this before. I rebooted (more scary umount msgs) and applied some Fedora updates, hopefully those may improve things, or I may just have a hardware problem and need a new drive or something. That’s doable but what a pain. I also noticed on the latest reboot that firefox is spawning off numerous gtk-gnash instances that burn CPU for two flash movies in my tabs that I’m not even playing. Killed them all but that really should not be happening. So not too confident in laptop still :-(

Agenda for today: root my old G1, try out CyanogenMod on it, and see if I can get androidscreencast going.

Leave a Reply

