For me to remember in future: parted will not fiddle with a Windows partition if Windows was not properly shut down just before. You have to make Windows happy first, or parted will fail mysteriously when resizing.

For Fedora Android setup – I needed to install eclipse-platform, eclipse-jdt, eclipse-gef, eclipse-pde ; and I’m still not sure whether I have all the dependencies or if adding sites in the eclipse software center is necessary (will try with another user now that I’ve gotten it working at all). EDIT: I don’t have to add a site, but I have to enable one that’s already there – at least the release site. Given that, eclipse-gef and eclipse-pde are probably superfluous. What’s confusing is that, when enabling sites, I have to cancel what I’m trying to install and start over – if I just enable the site and proceed, it doesn’t recalculate the dependencies.

Now I’m remembering how much fun it is to install the Sun JDK on Fedora. It’s actually not that bad, it’s just there’s a lot of conflicting outdated information out there. I think the basic sequence is:

  1. Install the JDK RPM from Sun
  2. Install the JPackage compatibility RPM java-1.6.0-sun-compat (which creates the necessary alternatives links)
  3. Use alternatives to set the Sun JDK as the preferred source for all things Java

The first bit’s pretty simple – looks like just selecting the plain Java SE JDK will suffice (though hey, maybe I’ll try NetBeans one day).

JPackage is more of a mess than I remember. I’m not clear on exactly how to get set up for the latest JDK – I found a compat package for an earlier version (1.6.0_03) – is JPackage behind? The JDK I installed is 1.6.0_17. Ah – this is pretty, looks like they don’t have anything in place for Fedora 12 yet. Actually – wrong, the jpackage-release (repo setup) RPM linked from the front page of jpackage.org is old. But installing the new one doesn’t seem to get yum access to a newer java-1.6.0-sun-compat RPM either. Well, I manually jiggered alternatives for java and javac – with any luck that will hold it for now.

sudo /usr/sbin/alternatives --install /usr/bin/java java /usr/java/jdk1.6.0_17/bin/java 2
sudo /usr/sbin/alternatives --install /usr/bin/javac javac /usr/java/jdk1.6.0_17/bin/javac 2
Leave a Reply

