the rest of the day

My G1 phone utterly locked up. I think it was in a deadlock or spin loop of some sort; it didn’t respond to any buttons, not to the power button being held down, not to the power being plugged in. I had to remove the battery and replace it to get it to wake up. This has never happened before. All this just because I wanted to see what time it was, sheesh! On the bright side, I figured out how to remove the protective case and used the opportunity to replace it with the other one I bought a while back.

I’m trying out Heroku – heard about it at a Ruby meetup last week. What a useful idea – place to try out my Rails apps for free, and hooked in with github. Hope it sticks around. For now, I just noticed that I don’t even have Ruby installed on my Ubuntu VM – how embarrassing. Rectifying that.

Having a quick chat (before rehearsal) with Justis about the tech lunch and other things around creating a tech startup/entrepreneurial atmosphere in the Triangle area.

First step of Heroku failed – installing the heroku gem.

extconf.rb:1:in `require': no such file to load -- mkmf (LoadError)

Looks like I need another dependency according to these helpful blog entries. Easy enough, rolling. But having installed the heroku gem, the heroku command is not available in my path. Following a tip from stackoverflow I find the path is /var/lib/gems/1.8/bin/heroku so I just run that manually. Need to install libopenssl-ruby, ok. After that, the workflow goes as advertised on the heroku start page. I open the site in my browser, and I receive a lovely error about my configuration – well, I’ll figure out what that’s about later, I’m sure it’s some rails versioning thing or something I left busted. D’oh.

Leave a Reply

